Les sanctuaires nationaux
du Québec

The province of Quebec prides itself on having four of the five major national shrines designated by the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops. Saint-Anne-de-Beaupré Shrine, the oldest, has been the site of pilgrimages for the past 350 years. Founded in 1888 in Trois-Rivières, Our Lady of the Cape Shrine celebrates its 125th anniversary in 2013. Saint Joseph’s Oratory of Mount Royal in Montreal was founded in 1904 by Saint Brother André, who was canonized by Pope Benedict XVI in 2010. St. Anthony’s Hermitage was founded in 1908. These shrines welcome more than 3.5 million visitors every year, reflecting their importance to worshippers.